Previous Page
Release Date:  
Lois Lowry
Houghton Mifflin

Since winning the Newbery Medal in 1994, Lois Lowry's The Giver has become one of the most influential novels of our time.This stunning redesign of The Giver Quartet presents a fresh, cohesive package that ties The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son together.

The story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal world. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver does he begin to understand the dark secrets behind this fragile community. The Giver is the first book in The Giver Quartet, which also includes Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Lois Lowry's latest return to Jona's world, Son, available September 2012. (Google Books Summary)

CBHD's Take