Previous Page
Adam Omelianchuk, PhD, MA

Adam Omelianchuk, PhD, MA

Associate Fellow

Adam Omelianchuk is Assistant Professor at Baylor College of Medicine's Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy. He was previously a Clinical Ethics Fellow at the Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics where he has spent two years receiving training in health care ethics consultation. He received his PhD in philosophy from the University of South Carolina in 2018 and was a Lecturer in philosophy at Clemson University from 2018-2020; he also chaired the Institutional Review Board at AnMed Health Medical Center in Anderson, SC from 2019-2020. His research interests are currently focused on the biological validity of death declarations based on neurologic criteria, the moral status of human life, and the ethical normativity of the 'dead-donor rule' in organ transplantation. His most recent research investigates what sort of freedoms patients and their families are entitled to in light of a "brain death" declaration. He also currently serves as an Observer on the Uniform Law Commission's Drafting Committee for the Determination of Death Act. His publications can be found in Neurology, the Journal of Medicine & Philosophy, the Journal of Medical Ethics, and Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics. In his spare time, he enjoys all things related to NASA, national parks, book clubs, and spending time with his family.

Committee on the Biological and Biomedical Applications of Stem Cell Research
Board on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health
Michael A. Palladino
Kelly A. Hogan
Dr. George Daley
Eve Herold
Ronald M. Green
Daniel Paisner
Diana DeGette
Laura Black
Becky White
Elizabeth Savant
Rajesh Rao
Lindsay Pflug
Ilinca Pera
Ben Parks
Michael Nowak
Amber Nedreberg
Daniel Morgan
Andrew Moeller
Jackson McNeece
Rosa Macrito
Matthew Krueger
Apostolos Kalantzis
Stacy Colvard Hountras
Jenna Hostetler
Mikaela Hills
Maureen Girkens
Rebecca Garcia
Janessa Futrell
Justin Egge
Joanna Dukes
Joel Cunningham
Jessica Cernek
Bethany Burrell
Denise Bailey
Jay AuWerter
MaryLou Andrews
Drew Andrews
Kenny Allen
Michael Bellomo
Charis Thompson
Nancy E. Snow
Jonathan Slack
Christopher A. Pynes
Sarah Chan
Muireann Quigley
Andrew G. Renehan
Robert B. Clarke
Christopher S. Potten
Paul Torremans
Alice Park
Joseph Panno
Lars Østnor
Hans Clevers
Bernard Roelen
Anja van de Stolpe
Christine L. Mummery
Michael Mulkay
Jerome Tobis
Ronald Miller
Kristen Renwick Monroe
Anthony Atala
Sheldon Krimsky
Stephen R. Munzer
Russell Korobkin
Paul Knoepfler
Evelyn B. Kelly
Ron Harris
Asher Meir
Elisa Garcia
Göran Hermerén
Kristina Hug
Laura Grabel
Lori Gruen
Marin Gillis
William R. Hoffman
Leo Furcht
Lauri Friedman
Cynthia Fox
Katrien Devolder
Sarah Devaney
Committee on Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research
Board on Life Sciences
Division on Earth and Life Studies
National Research Council
Gracy Ledingham
Ewa Carrier
Michael A. Buratovich
Eric E. Bouhassira
Ruha Benjamin
Judy E. Stern
Deni Elliott
Trevor Smith
Susan Folkman
Bruce D. Sales
Josephine Johnston
Edward P. Richards
Earl C. Pike
Sana Loue