.rich-text-box p, a { overflow-wrap: break-word; word-wrap: break-word; -ms-hyphens: auto; -moz-hyphens: auto; -webkit-hyphens: auto; hyphens: auto; }
Arthur J. Dyck, PhD

Arthur J. Dyck, PhD

Emeritus Fellow

Arthur J. Dyck, PhD is the Mary B. Saltonstall Professor of Population Ethics in the School of Public Health and Member of the Faculty of the School of Divinity at Harvard University. Dr. Dyck began teaching at Harvard Divinity School in 1965, and he is on the faculties of the Divinity School and the School of Public Health and a member of the Center for Development and Population Studies.

His main concentration is in ethical theory, with special application to questions of moral knowledge, human rights, and issues in bioethics. With Georgetown University Press he is revising Rethinking Rights and Responsibilities, originally published in 1994, which reflects his extensive work in moral knowledge and ethical theory. His book on physician-assisted suicide, When Killing is Wrong, was released in April 2001 by Pilgrim Press. He has also written the Center book Life's Worth: The Case Against Assisted Suicide. Professor Dyck plans to revise the anthology Ethics in Medicine and to publish a book on moral knowledge. Drawing upon his teaching and research, and other courses taught throughout Harvard University, he continues to coordinate an academic concentration in bioethics.

Dr. Dyck is a Distinguished Fellow of the Academy of Fellows of The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity.

Laurence J. O'Connell
Lainie F. Ross
Andrea F. DiMartini
Paula T. Trzepacz
Nicholas L. Tilney
Anthony D'Alessandro
David Talbot
John A. Balint
Lesley A. Sharp
Janet Radcliffe Richards
David Petechuk
Robert D. Truog
Franklin G. Miller
Margaret M. Lock
Steven J. Jensen
D. Scott Henderson
David Hamilton
Enrico Benedetti
Rainer Gruessner
William DeLong
Catharyn T. Liverman
Committee on Increasing Rates of Organ Donation
Daniel C. Coelho
Christopher Dewdney
Brian Alexander
Vinoth Ramachandra
Natasha Vita-More
Max More
Tracy J. Trothen
Stephen Lilley
lia Delio
John C. Haughey
Gregory Hansell
William Grassie
Steve Fuller
Ira Livingston
Judith M. Halberstam
Cary Wolfe
Ryan White
Jeanine Thweatt-Bates
Tamar Sharon
Asher Seidel
Peter M. Scott
Robert Pepperell
Pramod K. Nayar
Anthony Miccoli
Floyd Merrell
Jennifer L. Koosed
King-Tak IP
Michael J. Hyde
Stefan Herbrechter
N. Katherine Hayles
Curtis D. Carbonell
Thomas D. Philbeck
Chris Hables Gray
David Cecchetto
Stephen S. Hall
Ben Bova
Bruce A. Carnes
Susan Salladay
Calvin Mercer
Derek F. Maher
Mark Singleton
Meir Shahar
Adrian Renton
Lisa Raphals
Gemma Phillips
Christine Nutton
Vivienne Lo
Livia Kohn
Thomas M Hunt
Vanessa Heggie
Adrian Harrison
Sander Gilman
Paul Dimeo
Caroline Cartwright
Susan Brownell
Peter Hulsroj
Michael Rae
Anna Smajdor
Ruth Deech
Sheila M. Rothman
Pieter Bonte
Sigrid Sterckx
Jan Tolleneer
Roxanne Mykitiuk
Margrit Shildrick
Nick Bostrom
Guy Kahane
Ruud ter Meulen
Julian Savulescu
Ramez Naam
Pete Moore
Joel Garreau
Barbro Fröding
Carl Elliott
Katrin Grüber
Miriam Eilers
Laura Y. Cabrera

More from

Arthur J. Dyck, PhD