.rich-text-box p, a { overflow-wrap: break-word; word-wrap: break-word; -ms-hyphens: auto; -moz-hyphens: auto; -webkit-hyphens: auto; hyphens: auto; }
Cristina Richie, PhD

Cristina Richie, PhD


Cristina Richie, PhD is an Lecturer in Philosophy and Ethics of Technology department at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), the Joint Editor-in- Chief of the journal Global Bioethics, and the Chair of the Environmental Bioethics Affinity Group of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities. Richie was previously a Research Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities, University of Edinburgh (2020), an Assistant Professor in the Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies at the Brody School of Medicine (2017-202) and has also taught at Tyndale Theological Seminary, (Netherlands), Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (Boston), Zaporozhye Bible College and Seminary (Ukraine), Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary-Boston and Tufts University.

Richie is the author of Principles of Green Bioethics: Sustainability in Health Care (Michigan State University Press, forthcoming) and over 35 peer-reviewed articles in journals such as Bioethics, the Journal of Medical Ethics, the Hastings Center Report, Medicina e Morale, and Developing World Bioethics. In 2018, Richie was an Erasmus Mundus Visiting Scholar at the Center for Biomedical Ethics and Law, KU Leuven (Belgium) and in 2011 she was a Visiting Scholar in Bioethics at the Hastings Center (New York).

Her internationally recognized expertise in environmental bioethics, reproductive ethics, and health care policy has solicited interviews from the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe, BMJ Talk Medicine, and Vox and her scholarship on environmental sustainability and reproductive technologies was cited in both the 2017 Oxford Handbook of Reproductive Ethics and the 2017 Palgrave Handbook of Infertility in History.

Richie’s nomination to the academy will coincide with her leadership position as co-chair of the Bioethics Consultation of the Evangelical Theological Society (2019–2021), where she has also served as a member of the Steering Committee since 2015. During this time her scholarship will continue its focus on environmental sustainability in health care, medical reproduction, and global justice.

Dr. Richie has a PhD Theology (theological ethics) from Boston College, a ThM (moral theology) from Boston College School, an MDiv from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, a Diploma from the Vineyard Institute of Ministry, and a BA in English Literature from Colorado State University. She was in parish ministry for eight years and is the Head of the North Carolina Unit of the UNESCO Chair in Bioethics.


Laurence J. O'Connell
Lainie F. Ross
Andrea F. DiMartini
Paula T. Trzepacz
Nicholas L. Tilney
Anthony D'Alessandro
David Talbot
John A. Balint
Lesley A. Sharp
Janet Radcliffe Richards
David Petechuk
Robert D. Truog
Franklin G. Miller
Margaret M. Lock
Steven J. Jensen
D. Scott Henderson
David Hamilton
Enrico Benedetti
Rainer Gruessner
William DeLong
Catharyn T. Liverman
Committee on Increasing Rates of Organ Donation
Daniel C. Coelho
Christopher Dewdney
Brian Alexander
Vinoth Ramachandra
Natasha Vita-More
Max More
Tracy J. Trothen
Stephen Lilley
lia Delio
John C. Haughey
Gregory Hansell
William Grassie
Steve Fuller
Ira Livingston
Judith M. Halberstam
Cary Wolfe
Ryan White
Jeanine Thweatt-Bates
Tamar Sharon
Asher Seidel
Peter M. Scott
Robert Pepperell
Pramod K. Nayar
Anthony Miccoli
Floyd Merrell
Jennifer L. Koosed
King-Tak IP
Michael J. Hyde
Stefan Herbrechter
N. Katherine Hayles
Curtis D. Carbonell
Thomas D. Philbeck
Chris Hables Gray
David Cecchetto
Stephen S. Hall
Ben Bova
Bruce A. Carnes
Susan Salladay
Calvin Mercer
Derek F. Maher
Mark Singleton
Meir Shahar
Adrian Renton
Lisa Raphals
Gemma Phillips
Christine Nutton
Vivienne Lo
Livia Kohn
Thomas M Hunt
Vanessa Heggie
Adrian Harrison
Sander Gilman
Paul Dimeo
Caroline Cartwright
Susan Brownell
Peter Hulsroj
Michael Rae
Anna Smajdor
Ruth Deech
Sheila M. Rothman
Pieter Bonte
Sigrid Sterckx
Jan Tolleneer
Roxanne Mykitiuk
Margrit Shildrick
Nick Bostrom
Guy Kahane
Ruud ter Meulen
Julian Savulescu
Ramez Naam
Pete Moore
Joel Garreau
Barbro Fröding
Carl Elliott
Katrin Grüber
Miriam Eilers
Laura Y. Cabrera

More from

Cristina Richie, PhD

No items found.