Previous Page
Ferdinand D. (Nick) Yates, Jr., MD, MA

Ferdinand D. (Nick) Yates, Jr., MD, MA

Guest Contributor

Ferdinand D. (Nick) Yates, Jr., MD, MA, is currently in full-time pediatric practice in a suburb outside of Atlanta, Georgia. Previously, he was Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at State University of New York at Buffalo. He was also the senior pediatrician and co-founder of Genesee-Transit Pediatrics, LLP. He earned Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry in 1974 and Doctor of Medicine in 1978 from The University of Virginia. He completed a residency in general pediatrics at Women and Children's Hospital in Buffalo, New York and subsequently entered private pediatric practice in 1981. Dr. Yates graduated with Master of Arts in Bioethics cum laude from Trinity International University in 2004.

Dr. Yates is Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics for which he has intermittently served on the Executive Committee for the Section on Bioethics. In addition he is a member of the Christian Medical & Dental Associations where he has been mostly involved with the Ethics Commission. He has also served on the Board of Directors for the American College of Pediatricians. In Buffalo, he has been a member of the ethics committees for both the Catholic Health System and for the Kaleida Health System. He served as founding co-chair of the Healthcare Ethics Council for The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity.

As a former Medical Ethicist, Dr. Yates offered bedside ethics consultations assisting in critical care decision making at the bedside of adults and children. In addition, he was actively involved in the education of medical students and hospital resident staff. In the Buffalo community, Nick volunteered at Cornerstone Manor – a shelter for women and children – where he examined the children and educated parents as they reside at the shelter.

In addition he enjoys playing with the grandchildren, cooking, golfing, and plays in an orchestra in the Atlanta-area church that he and his wife, Jackie, attend.

Adeline A. Allen, JD
Jacqui True
Kathleen Staudt
Janice Ristock
Raquel Kennedy Bergen
Jeffrey L. Edleson
Claire M. Renzetti
Stanley G. French
James Ptacek
Joshua M. Price
Nina Cummings
Andrea Parrot
Rosemary Sullivan
Jessica R. Schiffman
Laura L. O'Toole
Sally Engle Merry
Cecilia Menjívar
Ola W. Barnett
Alyce D. LaViolette
Rochelle G. Saidel
Sonja M. Hedgepeth
Victoria Grace
Renée J. Heberle
Lori B. Girshick
Jennifer Hyndman
Wenona Giles
David Ghanim Ph.D.
Francis T. Cullen
Leah E. Daigle
Bonnie S. Fisher
Fatima Sadiqi
Moha Ennaji
Alice Edwards
Walter S. DeKeseredy
Mary E. Odem
Jody Clay-Warner
Nikki Jones
Meda Chesney-Lind
World Health Organization
Mary Nyangweso Wangila
Pratibha Parmar
Alice Walker
Rosemarie Skaine
Eiman Hussein Sharief
Nahid Toubia
Tshiya Subayi
Khama Rogo
Joëlle Palmieri
Marie-Hélène Mottin-Sylla
Esther D Rothblum
Ellen Cole
Hanny Lightfoot Klein
Claire C. Robertson
Stanlie M. James
Esther Hicks
Ellen Gruenbaum
Elizabeth Heger Boyle
Elisabeth Bekers
Rogaia Mustafa Abusharaf
Jaya Sagade
Hua-Lun Huang
Sambodh Goswami
Minky Worden
Celia Kitzinger
Sue Wilkinson
Margaret Urban Walker
Aana Marie Vigen
Barbara Parish
Susan Sherwin
Petya Fitzpatrick
Laurel E. Baldwin-Ragaven
Sue V. Rosser
Kerry Petersen
Andrea Wolper
Julie Stone Peters
Jennifer A. Parks
Anne Firth Murray
Catharine A. MacKinnon
Ilana Löwy
Miriam Schneidman
Amanda Glassman
Ruth E Levine
Rosemary McKechnie
Tamara Kohn
Paul A. Komesaroff
Sheryl WuDunn
Nicholas D. Kristof
Helen Bequaert Holmes
Sahra Gibbon
Donna Dickenson
Lorraine Dennerstein
Elizabeth Croll
Marjorie Agosín
Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy
Policy and Global Affairs
Committee on the Biological and Biomedical Applications of Stem Cell Research
Board on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health
Michael A. Palladino
Kelly A. Hogan
Dr. George Daley