Previous Page
Henk Jochemsen, PhD

Henk Jochemsen, PhD

Senior Fellow
Advisory Board Member

Henk Jochemsen, PhD studied molecular biology at the Wageningen Agricultural University. His doctoral thesis concerned pre-clinical cancer research at Leiden University. From 1980-1986, Dr. Jochemsen and his family pioneered student work in Paraguay with the International Fellowship of Evangelical Students. In addition, he lectured in molecular biology at the National University of Asunción for five years and taught Christian ethics at a bible college in Asunción for two years.

After his return to the Netherlands in 1986, Dr. Jochemsen became involved in the Lindeboom Instituut, a private center for medical ethics that was being founded at that time. Since 1987, he has been the director of this Institute. In this capacity, he has written and co-edited various articles, reports, and books (mainly in Dutch, but also in English, German, and Spanish) and has given lectures on various medical-ethical themes in the Netherlands and at international conferences and courses.

Dr. Jochemsen is a member of the ethics commission of the Federation of Associations of Patients with Congenital Diseases and serves as advisor of a number of health care in the Netherlands. Since early 1996, he has been coordinating the research at the Institute for Culture Ethics at Amersfoort. On January 1, 1998, Dr. Jochemsen assumed the Lindeboom Chair of Medical Ethics at Free University, Amsterdam. Since September 1, 2002, he has lectured on the ethics of care at the Christian College for Higher Professional Education.

Dr. Jochemsen is a Senior Fellow and an advisory board member of The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity and a member of the European editorial board of Ethics & Medicine.

He is married to Marieke Kok, and they have three children.

Adeline A. Allen, JD
Jacqui True
Kathleen Staudt
Janice Ristock
Raquel Kennedy Bergen
Jeffrey L. Edleson
Claire M. Renzetti
Stanley G. French
James Ptacek
Joshua M. Price
Nina Cummings
Andrea Parrot
Rosemary Sullivan
Jessica R. Schiffman
Laura L. O'Toole
Sally Engle Merry
Cecilia Menjívar
Ola W. Barnett
Alyce D. LaViolette
Rochelle G. Saidel
Sonja M. Hedgepeth
Victoria Grace
Renée J. Heberle
Lori B. Girshick
Jennifer Hyndman
Wenona Giles
David Ghanim Ph.D.
Francis T. Cullen
Leah E. Daigle
Bonnie S. Fisher
Fatima Sadiqi
Moha Ennaji
Alice Edwards
Walter S. DeKeseredy
Mary E. Odem
Jody Clay-Warner
Nikki Jones
Meda Chesney-Lind
World Health Organization
Mary Nyangweso Wangila
Pratibha Parmar
Alice Walker
Rosemarie Skaine
Eiman Hussein Sharief
Nahid Toubia
Tshiya Subayi
Khama Rogo
Joëlle Palmieri
Marie-Hélène Mottin-Sylla
Esther D Rothblum
Ellen Cole
Hanny Lightfoot Klein
Claire C. Robertson
Stanlie M. James
Esther Hicks
Ellen Gruenbaum
Elizabeth Heger Boyle
Elisabeth Bekers
Rogaia Mustafa Abusharaf
Jaya Sagade
Hua-Lun Huang
Sambodh Goswami
Minky Worden
Celia Kitzinger
Sue Wilkinson
Margaret Urban Walker
Aana Marie Vigen
Barbara Parish
Susan Sherwin
Petya Fitzpatrick
Laurel E. Baldwin-Ragaven
Sue V. Rosser
Kerry Petersen
Andrea Wolper
Julie Stone Peters
Jennifer A. Parks
Anne Firth Murray
Catharine A. MacKinnon
Ilana Löwy
Miriam Schneidman
Amanda Glassman
Ruth E Levine
Rosemary McKechnie
Tamara Kohn
Paul A. Komesaroff
Sheryl WuDunn
Nicholas D. Kristof
Helen Bequaert Holmes
Sahra Gibbon
Donna Dickenson
Lorraine Dennerstein
Elizabeth Croll
Marjorie Agosín
Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy
Policy and Global Affairs
Committee on the Biological and Biomedical Applications of Stem Cell Research
Board on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health
Michael A. Palladino
Kelly A. Hogan
Dr. George Daley