Previous Page
Theo A. Boer, PhD

Theo A. Boer, PhD


Dr. Boer (Rotterdam, 1960) studied theology and ethics at Utrecht University (1979–1989) and Uppsala University (1983–1984). From 1987–2001 he was a researcher at the Center for Bioethics and Health Law of Utrecht University, where his focus was on the relations between ethics, institutional healthcare, and Christian faith. In those years he served on many institutional ethics committees. In 1989 he did his church internship in Karl-Marx-Stadt in East Germany. In 1995 he got his theological licentiate at Uppsala University and in 1997 his theological doctorate at Utrecht University, both on the theocentric ethics of James M. Gustafson. In 2001, Dr. Boer was appointed senior lecturer of ethics at Utrecht University, since 2007 senior lecturer of ethics at the Protestant Theological University in Utrecht. From 2014–2019, he held the Lindeboom chair professor of Health Care Ethics at Kampen Theological University. Since 2019, he is a full professor of Health Care Ethics at the Protestant Theological University in Groningen.

From 2005–2014, Dr. Boer served on a Governmental Review Committee on Euthanasia. During those years, he has become increasingly critical of developments in this field, and has become one of the most vocal critics of the Dutch euthanasia law. In the (American) Society of Christian Ethics, Dr. Boer chairs the Interest Group Evangelical Ethics. He is a member of the Dutch Health Council, advising the Government on matters of health care policy and ethics. He is frequently heard and seen in Dutch and international media. He lives near Utrecht in the Netherlands, is married with two children, and is an active member of the Protestant Church of the Netherlands.

Megan Klint, BA
Molly Rumley, BA
Corrine Smith, PhD (Cand)
David Croy, MD, MS, HEC-C
Catherine McDowell, PhD
Gracie Hsu Yu, MHS
Charles Sell, ThD
Joe Mclhaney, MD
David Hagar, MD
Tom Elkins, MD
Joleen Zivnuska, RN, MSN
Jeannine French, MA
Jim Renke, DMin
Cory Ingram, MD
James Rusthoven, MD, PhD
Jon Tilburt, MD, MPH
Patrick Garner, PhD
Teresa Stanton Collett, JD
C. Sarah Soh
Susan L. Miller
Sabita Manian
Kimberly A. McCabe
Somaly Mam
Eithne Luibhéid
Min Liu
Siddharth Kara
Sheila Jeffreys
Dilip K. Das
Obi N.I. Ebbe
Anthony DeStefano
James O. Finckenauer
Ko-lin Chin
Amalia L. Cabezas
Denise Brennan
Mary Elizabeth Shepherd
Mala Sen
Navtej K. Purewal
Tulsi Patel
D. E. Mungello
Mara Hvistendahl
Reena Dube
Renu Dube
Rashmi Dube Bhatnagar
Daniel Sperling
Rosamund Scott
Elizabeth Jean Thomson
Karen H. Rothenberg
Rachel Roth
Irvine Loudon
Marjorie A. Koblinsky
Sheila Kitzinger
Roger Webber
Affette McCaw-Binns
Julia Hussein
Tony Gray
Paul Hunt
Jon Lasser
Illysa R. Foster
Khiara Bridges
Nicole S. Berry
Tiantian Zheng
Vicci Tallis
Ida Susser
Corinne Squire
Cindy Patton
Gillian Paterson
Pranee Liamputtong
Christine S Smithies
Patricia A Lather
Bernice L. Hausman
Jennifer L Manlowe
Nancy Goldstein
Ednita M. Wright
Dorie J. Gilbert
Quinn Gentry
Linda K. Fuller
Nancy E. Kass
Gail Geller
Musimbi Kanyoro
Musa W. Dube Shomanah
Tamsin Wilton
Jennie Naidoo
Lesley Doyal
Nigel South
Sheila Henderson
Nicholas Dorn
Cheryl Doss
Cecilia Conrad
Desiree Ciambrone
R Dennis Shelby
Carole A. Campbell
Courtney Martin
Marvelyn Brown
Karen M. Booth
Michele Tracy Berger
Julie Ponsford Holland
Arthur J. Ammann
Hillary J. Haldane
Jennifer R. Wies
Martha Albertson Fineman