Previous Page
Nigel M. de S. Cameron, PhD, MBA

Nigel M. de S. Cameron, PhD, MBA

Guest Contributor

Nigel M. de S. Cameron, PhD, MBA is President of the Center for Policy on Emerging Technologies, in Washington, DC, which he founded in 2007, and Technology/Futures editor at

In the 1990s, he served as Distinguished Professor of Theology and Culture at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and was first Provost of Trinity International University. More recently he was a Research Professor and Associate Dean at Chicago-Kent College of Law in the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). In 2016 he was Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in Science and Society at the University of Ottawa, Canada.

His most recent books are Will Robots Take Your Job? A Plea for Consensus (Polity/Wiley, 2017), and The Robots are Coming. Us, Them, and God (CARE Trust, forthcoming, 2017). He co-wrote with Joni Eareckson Tada How to be a Christian in a Brave New World (Zondervan, 2006) and co-edited with Charles W. Colson Human Dignity in the Biotech Century: A Christian Vision for Public Policy (Inter-Varsity, 2004). Other books include Nanoscale: Issues and Perspectives for the Nano Century (Wiley, 2007, co-edited); and The New Medicine: Life and Death after Hippocrates (Hodders, 1991).

He has been a visiting scholar at UBS Wolfsberg in Switzerland, a featured speaker at the Aspen Ideas Festival and Global Health Forum, and invited chair of GITEX, the leading Middle East tech conference in Dubai. Recent speaking engagements have included conferences hosted by The Economist magazine in Hong Kong and Spain, and the Champalimaud Foundation conference in Portugal on the world in 100 years' time.

Cameron has represented the United States on delegations to the United Nations General Assembly and UNESCO, and been a participant in the U.S./EU dialogue Perspectives on the Future of Science and Technology. He is in his fourth term as a Commissioner of the U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and Chair of its Committee on Social and Human Sciences. He has testified before both houses of Congress, the European Parliament and the European Commission's Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies. In 2007 he was the United States Government's nominee to the UN Human Rights Council as Special Rapporteur for the Right to Health. A native of the UK, he studied at Cambridge and Edinburgh Universities and the Edinburgh Business School.

Updated August 2017

Megan Klint, BA
Molly Rumley, BA
Corrine Smith, PhD (Cand)
David Croy, MD, MS, HEC-C
Catherine McDowell, PhD
Gracie Hsu Yu, MHS
Charles Sell, ThD
Joe Mclhaney, MD
David Hagar, MD
Tom Elkins, MD
Joleen Zivnuska, RN, MSN
Jeannine French, MA
Jim Renke, DMin
Cory Ingram, MD
James Rusthoven, MD, PhD
Jon Tilburt, MD, MPH
Patrick Garner, PhD
Teresa Stanton Collett, JD
C. Sarah Soh
Susan L. Miller
Sabita Manian
Kimberly A. McCabe
Somaly Mam
Eithne Luibhéid
Min Liu
Siddharth Kara
Sheila Jeffreys
Dilip K. Das
Obi N.I. Ebbe
Anthony DeStefano
James O. Finckenauer
Ko-lin Chin
Amalia L. Cabezas
Denise Brennan
Mary Elizabeth Shepherd
Mala Sen
Navtej K. Purewal
Tulsi Patel
D. E. Mungello
Mara Hvistendahl
Reena Dube
Renu Dube
Rashmi Dube Bhatnagar
Daniel Sperling
Rosamund Scott
Elizabeth Jean Thomson
Karen H. Rothenberg
Rachel Roth
Irvine Loudon
Marjorie A. Koblinsky
Sheila Kitzinger
Roger Webber
Affette McCaw-Binns
Julia Hussein
Tony Gray
Paul Hunt
Jon Lasser
Illysa R. Foster
Khiara Bridges
Nicole S. Berry
Tiantian Zheng
Vicci Tallis
Ida Susser
Corinne Squire
Cindy Patton
Gillian Paterson
Pranee Liamputtong
Christine S Smithies
Patricia A Lather
Bernice L. Hausman
Jennifer L Manlowe
Nancy Goldstein
Ednita M. Wright
Dorie J. Gilbert
Quinn Gentry
Linda K. Fuller
Nancy E. Kass
Gail Geller
Musimbi Kanyoro
Musa W. Dube Shomanah
Tamsin Wilton
Jennie Naidoo
Lesley Doyal
Nigel South
Sheila Henderson
Nicholas Dorn
Cheryl Doss
Cecilia Conrad
Desiree Ciambrone
R Dennis Shelby
Carole A. Campbell
Courtney Martin
Marvelyn Brown
Karen M. Booth
Michele Tracy Berger
Julie Ponsford Holland
Arthur J. Ammann
Hillary J. Haldane
Jennifer R. Wies
Martha Albertson Fineman